Who can break this down for me?!?!?!?

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Aug 15, 2002
thefreshestkids.com
Yo, I am hollerin at an emcee to do a guest appearance on a track I have in mind but we are not in the same state. Now the question is, who knows how it's done concerning having the artist record the track and sending it in the mail?!? What happens after that point, can the studio mix the verse to make it sound like we recorded in the same studio time frame?!?! And what is the difference between formats it's recorded in?!? I'm new to that shit, any help will be appreciated.Thanx.:devious:

Apr 26, 2002
Try to get it recorded at a Pro Tools Studio on whatever platform Mac or PC, then have them burn the actual session file to Disc, ship it out and have the emcee record his part on there. save it to disk, ship it back, mix it, and itz all gravy!

Apr 25, 2002
Northtown702 said:
Yo, I am hollerin at an emcee to do a guest appearance on a track I have in mind but we are not in the same state. Now the question is, who knows how it's done concerning having the artist record the track and sending it in the mail?!? What happens after that point, can the studio mix the verse to make it sound like we recorded in the same studio time frame?!?! And what is the difference between formats it's recorded in?!? I'm new to that shit, any help will be appreciated.Thanx.:devious:
Understand that if you are recording vocals at two different spots, its going to be two different sounds. Atleast two different sets of ears are going to be doing what they think sounds good.

Can your mix engineer make it sound like all the vocals were recorded at the same place? If your mix engineer knows what the he is doing. Just remember, you can't make shit shine. If dude sends you crap, ain't much you can do about that.