Northwest Gansterism?!?

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Jan 28, 2005
Northwest Gangsterism?!?

Nobody seems to be talking about this so I will. My brother recently gave me burnt copies of NW artists (I'm an artist myself and I wouldn't accepted burnt copies from anyone else) . Nothing was wrong about it, production was good. BUT, it seemed like everyone talked about sets and bangin, and all the disks had atleast one mary-jane/chronic track where they compare females to weed. I CANNOT RELATE TO THIS! I know there are anomalies like Unexpected Arrival, Sarkastic, etc; I may be wrong, but so far all I hear are NWA/Dipset type rappers on bay area beats. How can the US take the NW serious, when sometimes I can't? I'll be glad to change my mind or am I the only one noticing this?

Apr 25, 2002
I know how you feel. Personally I have no problems with the NW music, there are about 10-20 extremely talented artists/groups and about 5-10 extremely talented producers up here.

But sometimes when I listen I do think that nobody else around the country could take the gangster stuff seriously because no matter how you want to twist it, IN THE EYES OF PEOPLE ELSEWHERE IN THE US, the cities of the NW do NOT have the gangster image that a lot of other places do. So you put two and two together, and the conclusion is that the artists, while talented, are fake (and even if they are not, it is not as believable b/c of the city they're from).

That's my big thesis that I've been arguing on here for awhile, developed partially from living elsewhere in the US and partially from my education. In a way it's unfair to some of the people, but it's reality.

Kon1

Sicc OG
May 17, 2002