looking for advice

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Oct 3, 2005
i tried searching through these posts but couldn't quite find what i was looking for, so i figured i'd ask for some help.

I've decided to get into beatmaking, more or less as a hobby, so i'm new to this. i've just ordered a surround sound system, and an m-audio axiom 49. i'll be running all of this with my laptop. now here's my question:

what would be the best way to hook up my laptop to my surround sound reciever to get the best quality sound? i've currently got a $5 1/8" jack to RCA converter cable, but i'm sure there's a way to get better sound. do they make a pc bus card with RCA outs or a USB soundcard with RCA outs? i haven't found anything like that anywhere. if you have any suggestions i would appreciate it.

on a side note: a friend of mine is looking to do some pre-production recording, as he calls it, to get a feel for what he would sound like over some instrumentals or whatever. all he had was a simple microphone plugged into the mic jack of his laptop. we recorded him using adobe audition, and it sounded great while he was recording, but when we played it back over top of the instrumental, it sounded off beat as fuck. i'm thinking that either the laptop soundcard is giving us a delay, or the fact that it was a cheap mic, or both. any suggestions on how to resolve this issue without dropping an assload of cash? he's not looking to build a studio, just to be able to record himself for the sake of hearing it played back.

sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance.

Apr 25, 2002
Somebody probably makes a USB audio interface with RCA jacks on it but I don't have any recommendations off-hand. Maybe someone else here has more information about that they can share.