Funk Question???

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Jan 2, 2003
Recently I've been workin on music theory, and it just hasn't clicked with me yet, so I got some questions....

What key/chords/scales, are utilized in funk music....?
Is it mostly based off jazz chords n such...?

Also

What scale/key do u guys like to work in ???

any tips or suggestion on music theory would be apprecited..

Thanks

Apr 25, 2002
I dont think funk uses alot of jazz chords. I've been learning funk guitar the past few months and the main chords I've been playing have been 9 chords(particulary E9). Funk also uses alot of dominant chords/voicings. Im still learning myself..maybe Ill post up a little sample of something I was messing around with earlier.

Apr 26, 2006
Anyways, I personally don't know shit about theory. I just use my ears. From my personal experience, it's all in how you hit the keys. You have to have good rhythm and timing. Bounce your fingers on the keys. Like Filthy Rich said, the sounds themselves play a factor also. The "wah wah" effect can enhance or give you that funky feel.

Listen to this, a little funky beat I made:
http://www.zshare.net/audio/81371529f053f9/

50cal don't like the drumbeat, but fuck him, he never helps. lol

Apr 12, 2005
www.freeloadmp3.com
Naw I love that drum beat.. sounds like some Dr Dre...when you sampled the drums did you run em through an ssl and Eq before you recorded the sample? And the funky worm...ahaha...If I would you I would just take the worm out and during the verse..just do a lil solo with a pulse or something...lets see how funky ya get with it...

Feb 2, 2006