ANOTHER YUKMOUTH INTERVIEW/1/22/2008

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.

TLT

Sicc OG
Oct 6, 2005
http://hiphopruckus.blogspot.com/2008/01/live-interview-badnews-interviews.html

Badnews: Growing up in east Oakland how was the hip hop scene there?

Yukmouth: When I was growing up it was mainly MC Hammer, Too $hort, Dana Dane… the hop hop scene was real laid back, it was dancing, gangsta and pimpin’. Its still the same way instead of people doing the hammer dance people are doing the hyphy dances so it’s still the same way (Laughs).

Badnews: OK cool. Now your one half of the group Luniz, it’s you and Numskull and you had a hit song back in the day “I Got 5 on It” and you went platinum. How did you two hook up?

Yukmouth: Me and Numskull hooked up in Junior high school at Westlake and actually Numb was the rapper at the school and I was the cartoonist, I can draw real good, but I started drawing pictures of them they had a rap group. But they put me in the group not knowing I could rap I was in there because I could draw. But I was in the streets, I kept going in and out of juvenile hall, I was hustling. They like me because I had money, I was the fly dude at the school, and I kept going to jail, but after high school, we went our own way, I was still hustling and he was doing his own thing. Now I want to jail AGAIN. I had to go to jail for a year so I started focusing on rap and I learned how to rap real good in jail, that’s where I made the song “Ice Cream Man”, the song that got me a record deal I made it in jail. So when I get out of jail, I was rappin like a mother fucker, and I was thinking of who else can rap and the first name that came to my mind was Numbskull, so I called the nigga up and I told him my plan that I wanted to make a rap group called the Loony Tunez, I drew the logo and I said your name is going to be Numskull, I’m going to be Yuk lets rock.