Wu-Tang Clan’s ‘Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)’ and A Tribe Called Quest’s ‘Low End Theory’ albums archived in Library of Congress

Classic 1990s hip-hop LPs by Wu-Tang Clan and A Tribe Called Quest will be archived in the Library of Congress, the National Recording Registry announced today. Along with Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) and Low End Theory, the new full-length additions to the registry are Alicia Keys’ Songs in A Minor, the Shirelles’ Tonight’s the Night, Terry Riley’s In C, the Ry Cooder–produced Buena Vista Social Club, Bonnie Raitt’s Nick of Time, Duke Ellington’s Ellington at Newport, and Max Roach’s We Insist! Max Roach’s Freedom Now Suite.


Individual songs added include the Four Tops’ “Reach Out (I’ll Be There),” Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody,” Ricky Martin’s “Livin’ la Vida Loca,” Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song,” and Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin’.” Robin Williams’ 2010 appearance on Marc Maron’s WTF podcast also made the list. Check out the full rundown through the Library of Congress.


Last year’s batch included songs by Janet Jackson, Nas, and LaBelle. Read Pitchfork’s Sunday Reviews of Alicia Keys’ Songs in A Minor and Bonnie Raitt’s Nick of Time.

Speak On It!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Infecting The Masses!