Siccness Tech Goons

• Wanna Join? New users you can now register lightning fast using your Facebook or Twitter accounts.
Jan 5, 2006
Serious question here, any of you work in the Tech industry? Software Engineer/Database Administrator/Network Admin/Web Developer/Project Manager etc...?

I know some cats who are making $140k a year with bonuses. But shit the Bay Area is getting expensive! Started learning Java programming this semester, will probably pick up Javascript as well and either Ruby + Rails or Python + Django.

Jun 6, 2014
Earth
I am going to learn ruby on rails next semester. I've been fixing computers since before i could drive but always just did it on the side on craigslist to put extra cash in my pocket. The past couple of years business has been kind of slowing down. I attribute that to declines in prices for new technology. ppl r getting rid of laptops for tablets or just use their phone. Thats why i am majoring in computer science. IDK whati will do with my degree but at least i will have one.

Jan 5, 2006
I am going to learn ruby on rails next semester. I've been fixing computers since before i could drive but always just did it on the side on craigslist to put extra cash in my pocket. The past couple of years business has been kind of slowing down. I attribute that to declines in prices for new technology. ppl r getting rid of laptops for tablets or just use their phone. Thats why i am majoring in computer science. IDK whati will do with my degree but at least i will have one.
I've been told by people in the field that you should at least learn how to program because it teaches you a new way of thinking.

You can do a lot of different stuff with a CompSci degree. I'm double majoring but damn CompSci math is pretty useless, 3 semesters of Calculus (differential equations too) Farthest I got was Geometry.

Sounds like you could be a computer systems analyst since you know the hardware side, and if you learn the software side too, you could do that.